7.0299 Bertrand Russell Prizes (1/58)

Thu, 25 Nov 1993 16:26:34 EST

Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 7, No. 0299. Thursday, 25 Nov 1993.

Date: Sat, 13 Nov 93 21:51 CST
From: jrl8980@tamuts.tamu.edu
Subject: submission (not sure if you got it)

PLEASE ANNOUNCE!!! Deadline: April 1

Announcing . . .


The Bertrand Russell Society is offering Prizes for Papers for the
second consecutive year. We will award two Prizes annually for the best
papers, one prize for undergraduates, and one Prize for "young professionals"
(graduate students, junior professors, non-academics).

The Prize-winners will present their papers at the Society's next
Annual Meeting, to be held in Toronto, July 8-10, 1994, in conjunction
with meetings of the Humanist Association of Canada and the International
Humanist and Ethical Union. All expenses will be paid, including travel,
lodging, and meals. (Winners outside North America will receive a portion of
their airfare.) Each Prize also includes a first-year membership in The
Bertrand Russell Society. This includes a subscription to the quarterly
_Russell Society News_ and to the semi-annual academic journal, _Russell_,
published by the Russell Archives at McMaster University.

Papers can be on any aspect of Russell's life, work, or influence.
They must be suitable for presentation to a general audience. They may be
broad or narrow in scope and in any of the many fields
that interested Russell: logic, mathematics, ethics, history, politics,
religion, education, peace, nuclear war, history of ideas, etc., etc.,
or on Russell's relations with his contemporaries.

Papers should be suitable for a 40-minute presentation, that is, about
15 double-spaced pages of text. Submit a complete or nearly complete paper,
not an abstract. State that you would, if chosen, attend the July 8-10, 1994
Annual Meeting. Those who have previously appeared on an Annual Meeting
program are not eligible for these Prizes.

Submit your paper by APRIL 1, 1994 to Prof. John Lenz, Dept. of Modern
and Classical Languages, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843.
Telephone: (409) 845-4742; Fax: 409-845-6421; e-mail: jrlenz@tamu.edu.

Prize winners for 1993 [the first year of the program] were Tyler
Roberts, State University of New York, Fredonia, N.Y., U.S.A., "Russell,
the Individual, and Society" and Stefan Andersson, University of Lund,
Lund, Sweden, "Russell's Search for Certainty in Mathematics and Religion."
Alex Lo, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada and Santosh Makkuni,
State University of New York, Albany, N.Y., U.S.A. each received Honorable

* * *

The Annual Meeting is an informal weekend gathering of BRS members of
diverse interests and backgrounds. We also award annually the Russell
Society Award to an individual or organization whose work exemplifies Russell's
ideals and the Russell Society Book Award for the best recent work on Russell.

For information on the Bertrand Russell Society, send your snail-mail
address to: jrlenz@tamu.edu.