18.195 nominations for the Intellectual Freedom Award

From: Humanist Discussion Group (by way of Willard McCarty willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
Date: Sat, 4 Sep 2004 05:01:06 +0100

               Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 18, No. 195.
       Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                     Submit to: humanist_at_princeton.edu

         Date: Sat, 04 Sep 2004 04:50:38 +0100
         From: John Unsworth <unsworth_at_uiuc.edu>
         Subject: Nominations for Intellectual Freedom Award

November 1, 2004 is the Deadline for the 2004 Robert B. Downs Intellectual
Freedom Award Nominations

Champaign, IL--The Graduate School of Library and Information Science
(GSLIS) at the University of Illinois seeks nominations for the Robert B.
Downs Intellectual Freedom Award. Given annually, the award acknowledges
individuals or groups who have furthered the cause of intellectual
freedom, particularly as it impacts libraries and information centers and
the dissemination of ideas. Granted to those who have resisted censorship
or efforts to abridge the freedom of individuals to read or view materials
of their choice, the award may be in recognition of a particular action or
long-term interest in, and dedication to, the cause of intellectual

The Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award was established in 1969 by
the GSLIS faculty to honor Dean Emeritus Downs, a champion of intellectual
freedom, on the occasion of his 25th anniversary as director of the
School. Previous winners have included June Pinnell-Stephens, Collections
Services Manager for Fairbanks North Star Borough Public Library,
Fairbanks, Alaska, and Mainstream Montgomery County, a Montgomery County
Texas organization (2003); retired librarian Zoia Horn and Ginnie Cooper
and the Multnomah County Library Board of Trustees (Portland, Oregon)
(2002); high school librarian Deloris Wilson and the Electronic Frontier
Foundation (2001); Nancy Garden, young adult author, and Bennett Haselton,
creator of Peacefire.org (2000); Ann Symons, librarian at Juneau Douglas
High School in Alaska and immediate past president of the American Library
Association (1999); Mainstream Loudoun, for the group's commitment to
defending the right to access information on the internet at Loudoun
County (VA) Public Library (1998).

Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc., Westport, Connecticut, provides the
honorarium to the recipient and co-hosts the reception in honor of the
recipient. The reception and award ceremony for the 2004 Downs
Intellectual Freedom Award will take place in January 2005 during the
American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting in Boston.

Letters of nomination and documentation about the nominee should be sent
by e-mail to unsworth_at_uiuc.edu with a copy to weech_at_uiuc.edu or in paper
form to John Unsworth, Dean, GSLIS, 501 E. Daniel Street, Champaign, IL
61820 before November 1, 2004. Questions should be directed to Terry Weech
at weech_at_uiuc.edu; More information about the award is available at
Received on Sat Sep 04 2004 - 00:34:02 EDT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Sat Sep 04 2004 - 00:35:03 EDT