19.524 Busa Award nominations

From: Humanist Discussion Group (by way of Willard McCarty willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
Date: Wed, 21 Dec 2005 15:14:52 +0000

               Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 19, No. 524.
       Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                     Submit to: humanist_at_princeton.edu

         Date: Wed, 21 Dec 2005 15:05:50 +0000
         From: Willard McCarty <willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
         Subject: Roberto Busa Award, call for nominations

ADHO - Allied Digital Humanities Associations

The Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the
Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) announce:
The Roberto Busa Award


The Roberto Busa Award is a joint award of the Association for
Computers and
the Humanities (ACH) and the Association for Literary
and Linguistic Computing (ALLC). It is given every three years to
honour outstanding scholarly achievement in humanities computing.

The Award is named after Roberto Busa, SJ, who is regarded by many as
the founder of the field of humanities computing. The first award was
given to Father Busa himself in 1998. Subsequent recipients have
been Emeritus Professor John Burrows (2001), who helped to shape the
application of statistical methods to the analysis of textual style
and bridging the gap between traditional literary criticism and
computer-aided stylistics, and Emeritus Professor Susan Hockey
(2004), for her contribution to the establishment of the field of
Humanities Computing, and for her work on computers and text.

The next Busa Award will be given at the Digital Humanities 2007
conference, which will be held at the University of Illinois at
Urbana Champaign, USA.

The Award Committee (names listed below) invites nominations for this
award. Nominations may be made by anyone with an interest in humanities
computing and neither nominee nor nominator need be a member of ACH
or ALLC. Nominators should give some account of the nominee's work
and the
reasons it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to the field. A
list of bibliographic references to the nominees work is desirable.
Nominators are welcome to resubmit updated versions of unsuccessful
nominations submitted in previous years.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Award Committee, Lorna
Hughes, at the address lorna.hughes_at_kcl.ac.uk or
AHRC ICT Methods Network, Centre for Computing in the Humanities,
King's College, London,
London WC2R 3DX, UK, no later than June 1st, 2006.

Members of the 2007 Award Committee
Espen Ore (ALLC)
Lisa Lena Opas-Hanninen (ALLC)
Lorna Hughes (Chair, ACH)
Stefan Sinclair (ACH)

Dr Willard McCarty | Reader in Humanities Computing | Centre for
Computing in the Humanities | King's College London | Kay House, 7
Arundel Street | London WC2R 3DX | U.K. | +44 (0)20 7848-2784 fax:
-2980 || willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk www.kcl.ac.uk/humanities/cch/wlm/
Received on Wed Dec 21 2005 - 10:23:09 EST

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Wed Dec 21 2005 - 10:23:14 EST