19.706 Call for nominations, 2007 Roberto Busa Award

From: Humanist Discussion Group (by way of Willard McCarty willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
Date: Thu, 13 Apr 2006 06:14:40 +0100

               Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 19, No. 706.
       Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                     Submit to: humanist_at_princeton.edu

         Date: Thu, 13 Apr 2006 06:10:47 +0100
         From: Willard McCarty <willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
         Subject: Call for nominations, 2007 Roberto Busa Award

ADHO - Allied Digital Humanities Associations

The Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the
Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) announce:
The Roberto Busa Award


The Roberto Busa Award is a joint award of the Association for
Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Association for Literary
and Linguistic Computing (ALLC). It is given every three years to
honour outstanding scholarly achievement in humanities computing.

The Award is named after Roberto Busa, SJ, who is regarded by many as
the founder of the field of humanities computing. The first award was
given to Father Busa himself in 1998. Subsequent recipients have
been Emeritus Professor John Burrows (2001), who helped to shape the
application of statistical methods to the analysis of textual style
and bridging the gap between traditional literary criticism and
computer-aided stylistics, and Emeritus Professor Susan Hockey
(2004), for her contribution to the establishment of the field of
Humanities Computing, and for her work on computers and text.

The next Busa Award will be given at the Digital Humanities 2007
conference, which will be held at the University of Illinois at
Urbana Champaign, USA.

The Award Committee (names listed below) invites nominations for this
award. Nominations may be made by anyone with an interest in humanities
computing and neither nominee nor nominator need be a member of ACH
or ALLC. Nominators should give some account of the nominee's work
and the reasons it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to the field. A
list of bibliographic references to the nominees work is desirable.
Nominators are welcome to resubmit updated versions of unsuccessful
nominations submitted in previous years.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Award Committee, Lorna
Hughes, at the address lorna.hughes_at_kcl.ac.uk or
AHRC ICT Methods Network, Centre for Computing in the Humanities,
King's College, London,
London WC2R 3DX, UK, no later than June 1st, 2006.

Members of the 2007 Award Committee
Espen Ore (ALLC)
Lisa Lena Opas-Hanninen (ALLC)
Lorna Hughes (Chair, ACH)
Stefan Sinclair (ACH)
Steve Ramsay (ACH)

Lorna Hughes
AHRC ICT Methods Network
King's College, London
7 Arundel St.
London WC2R 3DX

e-mail: lorna.hughes_at_kcl.ac.uk
phone: 020-7848-2426
web: www.methodsnetwork.ac.uk
Received on Thu Apr 13 2006 - 01:30:40 EDT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Thu Apr 13 2006 - 01:30:54 EDT